How To Clear Netflix Viewing History


Netflix

Netflix has become a big part of my family in the last year. In my house I have five different profiles set up. This is due to having four kids and I don’t want to get show suggestions that are not meant for me like, “Cake Wars”, or “Tip and Oh!”. One of my sons is into cooking which is good, but not my cup of tea for a show.

With that being said, Netflix suggests shows and movies by using the data from your viewing history which is a good thing as long as your kids have not watched shows on your account (stop suggesting Captain Underpants, Netflix!). This got me thinking that there must be a way to undo this. With a little research I found out that you can clear/hide the shows you watched from your history. Now, sit back and get ready to learn how to take control of your account again.

How To Clear Netflix Viewing History

Step 1: Jump onto your favorite browser. Head to Netflix and then go to the top-right and click Sign in. Fill in all the important information, then click Sign in again.

netflix-sign-in-screen

Step 2: Once in, choose your profile. My account has five, so I will need to click on my cool profile pic.

profile-link

Step 3: On your Netflix profile page, go to the top-right and hover or click on the down-arrow next to your image. From the drop-down menu, choose Account.


netflix-menu-and-account-link

Step 4: In the My Profile section you will see the link to Viewing activity. Click it.

viewing-activity-link

Step 5: This is where all the magic happens. If you have been here before, you may notice that an update changed your options. Now, instead of an X, there is a Circle with a Slash (Do Not Enter sign) to remove a listing. Find a show that you wish to remove from your activities and click on the remove icon on the right.

Step 6: You will now see this message stating what you have done. Remember that this will also affect the recommendations you receive since they use your activity history to offer you suggestions. If you wish to learn more, click Learn More at the end of this message.

confirmation-message

You will do this to each one you wish to remove from your activity history. Done!

Now, I could not find a way to clear more then one at a time, so if you know how someone can do that, please share in the Comments area.


About the Author

Jason Shuffield

Jason Shuffield began working with computers at an early age. As he gained experience he began helping others who had difficulties with technology and requested assistance. Over time it became obvious there was a local need for a technology expert with great people skills. As a result Jason started his computer repair company, CYIN, in 2011. With years of experience in web design, computer repair, tech support, computer training and social media management Jason loves to share his knowledge and educate people.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *