iTunes 12 – How to Get Back to the Classic Look


Well, Apple has released iTunes 12.  Many will say that it has a sleeker, cleaner look to it.  But some of us like how the ‘old’ iTunes (version 10 and earlier) looked.   While you can’t get exactly the classic look and feel, you can get pretty close.

When you update iTunes to version 12, your default view will look like this:

itunes 12 1

STEP 1:  Select ‘Playlist’.  This will give you the sidebar on the left.

itunes 12 2

STEP 2: Click on ‘Albums’ on the far right and select ‘Songs’.

itunes 12 3

This will get you the closest to the classic look as you can get in iTunes 12.


itunes 12 4

These instructions are Mac-based.  Windows-based instructions may be different (but I would hope not by much).

 

About the Author

Judy Novotny

Judy is a computer veteran with 30 years of experience. She has owned everything from a TRS-80, Apple IIe and various Windows-based PCs. She is currently living in her Apple ecosystem at home consisting of an iPhone, iPad, iMac, MacBook, Apple TV, iPod nano and two Time Capsules. She is a fan of all things mobile since she got her first Palm Pilot in 1999. Check out her iPad app, Number Wizard, in the App Store. Follow her on Twitter @junovotech or at Junovo.com.

9 Comments

  1. Thank you! Saved me hours of frustration trying to figure it out. Why must they keep fixing what isn’t broken?

  2. Because Apple knows whats good for you and you’re supposed to just play along.

    Glad to get a sort-of classic look back.

    Thanks!

  3. The first time I was confronted with this new look I almost had a complete mental meltdown because I just suddenly couldn’t find my stuff. Another thing that kills me about Apple iTunes is that after the thing installs on Windows it tells you that to complete the installation you need to restart your computer. Why? I mean I’ve always ignored this ‘instruction’ and iTunes works just fine. I mean why would I want to restart my windows laptop, I never restart it. To me it looks like a cheap ploy by Apple to try and convince people that Windows always needs to be restarted – it doesn’t. It’s just your stupid piece of software that tells people to restart their machines when they really don’t need to.