Ignore Facebook Ad Promising Risque Videos of Friends


Facebook-logoIf you see an ad offering a ‘private video’ or ‘naked video’ of one of your Facebook friends, by all means, ignore it.  (Who would want to see that anyways?  Ewww.   But I digress.)

This is the latest scam that will result in malware called Trojan.FakeFlash.A being installed on your computer.  It has already infected 2 million people.

The ad looks authentic enough.  It even includes a picture of your friend, poached from their Facebook photos.  If you click on the link, you are directed to a fake YouTube page.  You will then be notified that you are restricted from seeing this due to age restrictions.  If bypassed, you will be told that you need to update Adobe Flash Player.  Of course, it is a fake update that will infect your computer.  At this point, it doesn’t matter because your browser was already infected when you visited the fake YouTube page.

The malicious browser extension then accesses your Facebook page and sends out the same ad to your friends with, of course, your name and picture in the ad.

Good anti-virus software will block the malware.

As I’ve said before, if something looks a little suspect, don’t click on it.   Do you really have the type of friends that would send you an ad to see those types of videos??


And never ever update software from a link provided in an ad or email.  Go directly to the site to get the update.

 

About the Author

Judy Novotny

Judy is a computer veteran with 30 years of experience. She has owned everything from a TRS-80, Apple IIe and various Windows-based PCs. She is currently living in her Apple ecosystem at home consisting of an iPhone, iPad, iMac, MacBook, Apple TV, iPod nano and two Time Capsules. She is a fan of all things mobile since she got her first Palm Pilot in 1999. Check out her iPad app, Number Wizard, in the App Store. Follow her on Twitter @junovotech or at Junovo.com.