How To Clear Android Google Maps Location History


In my last article, How To Disable Google Maps Tracking On Android, I mentioned  you could clear your Map location history on Google maps, but in that article we didn’t cover it, so I’m going to show you how you can do that now. Why should we bother, since we have already turned off location tracking? Good question, and there are two reasons I feel you should clear the history:

  • Even if you turn off the Map location, it still holds the old data of where you have been
  • Some Apps you use will require the location to be On, if you wish to use them

As with your browser, it is a good idea to clear out history every so often. If you need to use the location option on your Android phone, it is good to be aware of how to do this. Now, pull out your notebook and take some notes.

How To Clear Google Maps Location History On Android

Some of this will be a repeat from my last article, but for the ones who didn’t read it, here we go…

Step 1: Find the Google Map App on your Android device.

google-maps-icon

Step 2:  On the map screen tap the three lines at the top-left (or wherever your device hides this).


drop-down-menu-link

Step 3: Once on the side menu, scroll down until you see Settings. Tap it.

settings-link

Step 4: Look for the Google Location settings and tap it.

google-location-settings

Step 5: This is the magic screen where you can now fix and control the location options. Since we are here for Google location history, tap it.

Bonus Tip: You can get to the Location screen another way (a nice little shortcut):

  1. Swipe down from the top of your screen
  2. Tap on the Gear (or ‘Sprocket’)
  3. Tap on Location. Done!

Step 6: Before moving forward, make sure to have the Location history turned on by tapping the switch. Verify you are on the Gmail account on which you want to clear the history. This is done by tapping the down arrow at the top-right which will show all the accounts. Once on the right Gmail account, look at the bottom of the page and tap on the Manage Timeline button.


Step 7: Head to the top-right and tap the 3 dots. This will bring up a menu where you will tap on Settings.

Step 8: Scroll to the bottom and you will see two options: Delete all Location History, and Delete Location History Range. If you choose the first one, it will delete every location on every date permanently. If you understand that, then after you tap this one you will be given a warning screen. All you need to do is tap the box, and then tap Delete.

Step 9: Now you will see a window that confirms you have deleted your history. They also give you some suggestions of other areas you could look at. Done!

Step 10: If you choose the Delete Location History Range, then you will  be given the option to pick the dates. After picking your dates, hit continue, which takes you to basically the same warning screen from above. Check the box and tap delete. Done!

Now you are able to clear your location history on your Android device. Time to start clearing up the location history, people.

About the Author

Jason Shuffield

Jason Shuffield began working with computers at an early age. As he gained experience he began helping others who had difficulties with technology and requested assistance. Over time it became obvious there was a local need for a technology expert with great people skills. As a result Jason started his computer repair company, CYIN, in 2011. With years of experience in web design, computer repair, tech support, computer training and social media management Jason loves to share his knowledge and educate people.

There are no comments

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *