word-2016-feature-image

How Not To Share Changes Or Comments In Word

I am sure a lot, if not all of you, know what a robust tool Track Changes is in Word. It is also a good editing tool because it will show you the changes made in a document over a period of time. Of course, there is also another Word tool– Comments. It allows you to insert comments into your document for any reason or for no reason. You might not want to share your changes or comments with your colleagues or to even print documents that may contain these sorts of edits though.

Fortunately, there is a way that you can double-check to be certain this does not happen.

Follow the steps below to learn how:

  1. On your Ribbon, click File | Options.
  2. On the left-hand side, click Trust Center.
  3. Click Trust Center Settings to display the Trust Center dialog box.
  4. On the left, click Privacy Options.

  1. Be certain the Warn Before Printing, Saving, or Sending a File That Contains Tracked Changes or Comments has been selected.
  2. Click on OK to close the Trust Center.
  3. Click Cancel to close the Word Options dialog box.

There is a Caveat though!  Selecting this option will only show a warning if you email your document using the menu options in Word. If you close Word and then send your document as an attachment to an email, no warning will be provided!

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top

WHY NOT SUBSCRIBE TO OUR NEWSLETTER?

Get great content like this delivered to your inbox!

It's free, convenient, and delivered right to your inbox! We do not spam and we will not share your address. Period!