word-2016-feature-image

How To Be Notified Of Template Changes In Word

Word’s configuration settings are stored in the Normal template. This template is used to help create new, blank documents and to define some of the system-wide settings used by Word. As you make changes to these settings, Word marks the Normal template as “dirty” so that it will be saved when you exit the program.

A lot of folks do not realize that Word saves the Normal template without any notification to you by default. However, there may be instances when you would like a notification. Suppose there were some changes made without your being aware — by running a macro, for instance.

Follow the steps below to learn how to be notified:

  1. Display the Word Options dialog box. (In Word 2007 click the Office button and then click Word Options. In Word 2010 and Word 2013, and 2016, display the File tab of your Ribbon and then click Options.
  2. Click Advanced at the left side of the dialog box.
  3. Scroll down until you see Save options.

word-options

  1. Be certain Prompt Before Saving Normal Template is selected.
  2. Click OK.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top

WHY NOT SUBSCRIBE TO OUR NEWSLETTER?

Get great content like this delivered to your inbox!

It's free, convenient, and delivered right to your inbox! We do not spam and we will not share your address. Period!