Cant access URLs from Word 2003

Avatar

Please consider registering
Guest

Search

— Forum Scope —






— Match —





— Forum Options —





Minimum search word length is 3 characters - maximum search word length is 84 characters

Register Lost password?
sp_Feed sp_topic_old
Cant access URLs from Word 2003
Avatar
shobha
Member
Forum Posts: 55
Member Since:
February 7, 2010
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
1
May 16, 2010 - 3:33 am
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Hi
This is a new problem since last month.
I have XP pro, and Office 2003.
I have always been able to access stored URLs in Word Documents By CTRL + Click.
But Now I am getting the message
"The operation has been cancelled due to restrictions in effect on this computer. Please contact your system administrator. "
As I am the only one using this I dont know who to contact.
What Can I do to rectify ?
Thanks in Advance.
Shobha

Avatar
Jim Hillier
Admin
Forum Posts: 2492
Member Since:
August 9, 2011
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
2
May 16, 2010 - 7:57 am
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Hey Shobha - In the circumstances you describe I would say this is an Internet Explorer issue.

Have you installed and then uninstalled any other browsers of late....maybe Chrome or Firefox?

Try this simple possible solution first: Reset Internet Explorer as the default browser - navigate to [b:vbe8eptx]Control PanelAdd and Remove ProgramsSet Program Access and Defaults[/b:vbe8eptx]. Under "Choose a default web browser", select the 'Internet Explorer' option and click [b:vbe8eptx]OK[/b:vbe8eptx].

If that does not do it, please post back. There are other slightly more complicated steps we can advise you on.

Cheers....Jim

Avatar
Chad Johnson
Mod
Forum Posts: 867
Member Since:
August 11, 2011
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
3
May 16, 2010 - 1:13 pm
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Just to clarify, this is NOT a work / corporate computer, right?

Avatar
grr
Member
Forum Posts: 211
Member Since:
April 26, 2010
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
4
May 16, 2010 - 8:25 pm
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Shobha,

Adding to what have been asked do you have any of the following installed:

1. Spybot
2. MBAM

What antivirus/internet security software is installed?

Also is the problem with all the word documents which used to work fine previously, or with some?

Avatar
shobha
Member
Forum Posts: 55
Member Since:
February 7, 2010
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
5
May 18, 2010 - 8:38 am
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Hi folks
1. This is my personal home PC and I am the only one using it. ( Apart from my grandson who plays his games)
2. My Anti virus is Avast 5.05. I also use Glary utilities, Free Advance System Care and Ccleaner everyday after startup. Yes all three, one after another. I do not have an anti spyware as I tried some and there were always issues with existing software.
3. My default browser from last many years is Firefox, I also use Chrome . IE is only used for those sites which dont work for other browsers, specially my bank! I have not installed any new browser lately. With Add ons, I find Firefox does not need any extra anti spyware.
4. It is only Word which is having this problem. I can access the URLs thru Power point and PDF files ( Foxit).
5. I have just realized that my HD was reformatted last month by my computer man. ( It got corrupted).It probably started from then. As I don't always use word to access them, maybe I did not notice it before. As he is out of town right now, I am waiting to catch him. Could it be that ? If it was an office problem even power point should not work? Anyway I have tried repairing office and it did not work.
Thanks for the support. I really appreciate it. .
shobha

Avatar
shobha
Member
Forum Posts: 55
Member Since:
February 7, 2010
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
6
May 18, 2010 - 8:44 am
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Hi folks sorry,
instead of preview hit submit
well I tried making IE default browser.Nada. Same problem.
Also, the problem is will all word files not specific ones.
thanx once more.
shobha

Avatar
Jim Hillier
Admin
Forum Posts: 2492
Member Since:
August 9, 2011
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
7
May 18, 2010 - 6:47 pm
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Hey Shobha - I'm sorry to hear that simple fix did not work for you. I'm afraid most other possible solutions are much more complicated and often involve editing the registry.

You are not alone with this problem, there are plenty of reports of the same thing happening to many people. There does not appear to be a common solution, something which works for one user may not work for another.

It may be best to hand this over to your computer man, it is a fairly complex matter. I suggest you have a read through this topic and see for yourself:
http://social.answers.microsoft.com/For ... b98109b5a6

Cheers...Jim

Avatar
Chad Johnson
Mod
Forum Posts: 867
Member Since:
August 11, 2011
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
8
May 18, 2010 - 8:02 pm
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Type gpedit.msc in run. Browse through the User rights and Local Policy section and see if you have had disabled an of such related topics. Topics in sense the security policies that deny or allow links of any kind be it internet explorer/ Outlook etc. see and find for such thing. I'm really unable to help you out because I'm not a Vista User. Please bear with my vague directions.[/quote:16ra3u3e]
I pulled the above from [url:16ra3u3e]http://www.daniweb.com/forums/thread84492.html[/url:16ra3u3e]..

A word of caution, while its tough to do permanent damage using gpedit, you can make things go wonky if you change the wrong things. I recommend only changing something if you know what it's going to do.

Two things I'd try before this though:
1) Create another user account on the computer and grant it admin access (temporarily). Log in with it and see if the problem follows you.
2) Run a scan with Spybot ([url:16ra3u3e]http://www.safer-networking.org[/url:16ra3u3e] and see if anything odd appears.
3) (Bonus!!) In Outlook (yes, outlook), go to Tools-Options and click the Security tab. change your security to a lower level, click ok and try again. Can you click links in Outlook?

If you try gpedit, look through the settings and look for anything that does not say 'Not configured'. By default, there would be no policy to prevent links from opening.

Avatar
angelicscar
Member
Forum Posts: 4
Member Since:
April 26, 2010
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
9
May 18, 2010 - 11:08 pm
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Hello,

just a simple solution, have you tried re installing MS Office software? You may try reinstalling then inform us if this work for you

Avatar
shobha
Member
Forum Posts: 55
Member Since:
February 7, 2010
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
10
May 19, 2010 - 3:27 am
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Hi folks
Thanks to all for helpful suggestions.
Thanks more to Ziggie
Changing accounts seems to work! I can access now from word. I AM relieved. I dont want to mess up with the registry.
BUT! how do I import my desktop into the new account? Firefox seems to think it is a new account and wants to import from IE when all my book marks are already there in previous desktop. How to do it ?
Thanks
shobha

Avatar
Chad Johnson
Mod
Forum Posts: 867
Member Since:
August 11, 2011
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
11
May 19, 2010 - 8:47 am
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Well....if Firefox is all you're worried about, look for an add-on called FEBE (Firefox Environment Backup Extension) [url:1fl4d87w]https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/2109/[/url:1fl4d87w]

You can backup all of your custom firefox stuff - add-ons, themes, bookmarks, passwords, etc, etc. Back it up from your old account to a common place (Shared Documents), switch to your new account, Restore.

If its more than Firefox, we'd be best served to clear up the issue on your old account by deleting the settings for Microsoft Office (so all you have to re-setup is Office).

Avatar
shobha
Member
Forum Posts: 55
Member Since:
February 7, 2010
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
12
May 19, 2010 - 9:53 am
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Thanks Ziggie
Its taken me the whole of today but now i am back on track. Thanks for the link about FEBE. I exported the book marks and imported them in the new profile. now will install all the add ons.
Thanks folks It is a GREAT forum. God Bless you all.
shobha

Avatar
grr
Member
Forum Posts: 211
Member Since:
April 26, 2010
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
13
May 19, 2010 - 10:37 am
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Nice to know shobha that things are working for you.

[i:18h7xf9k]May be you now need a little less of cleaning [/i:18h7xf9k]

[quote:18h7xf9k]I also use Glary utilities, Free Advance System Care and Ccleaner everyday after startup.[/quote:18h7xf9k]

Forum Timezone: America/Indiana/Indianapolis

Most Users Ever Online: 188

Currently Online:
14 Guest(s)

Currently Browsing this Page:
1 Guest(s)

Member Stats:

Guest Posters: 10

Members: 1272

Moderators: 3

Admins: 4

Forum Stats:

Groups: 8

Forums: 19

Topics: 1538

Posts: 11824

Administrators: Jim Hillier, Richard Pedersen, David Hartsock, Marc Thomas

Moderators: Judy Novotny, Jason Shuffield, Mail Poet